We’re delighted to announce this year’s longlist of 20 stories for The Leicester Writes Short Story Prize 2018. The longlist was chosen from 185 submissions received.

Stories on this year’s longlist include (in alphabetical order):

A Birthday Gift by Reshma Ruia
A motionless stuffed bear by Judy Birkbeck
Black and Blue by Alison Woodhouse
Catapult by Peter Horwood
Get Along Without You Now by Dianne Bown-Wilson
How Do We Die? by Selma Carvalho
Jigsaw Pieces by Skye Malhi
Life’s body by Ashley Smith
Natural Accents by Mona Dash
Numbers by N.F. Vania
Paper Chains by Debz Hobbs-Wyatt
Peacocks by Jason Jackson
Quotations from Shakespeare by Frances Johnstone
Rovers a good boy by Sai Fung
Scrubbed Away by Helen Cooper
The Dublin- Belfast train by Bernie McQuillan
The van of life by Alexander Drakesmith
The View from Space by Jude Cook
The Whisperer by John Fulton
XXX by Diana Powell

All the stories featured on our longlist will be published in our prize anthology. A shortlist will now be selected by our fantastic judging panel, including writers Rebecca Burns, Jon McGregor and last year’s first prize winner, CG Menon.

We aim to make our shortlist announcement by April 27, 2018.