2022 Longlist

We’re delighted to announce this year’s longlist of 20 stories for The Leicester Writes Short Story Prize.

Stories on this year’s longlist (in alphabetical order) include:

  • A Moving Image by Edward Barnfield
  • All That Remains by Colin Brezicki
  • Before the White Elephant by Ivan Richardson
  • Cuckold by Karen Storey
  • Daal in Memoriam by Ishrat Jahan
  • Eager to Please by Henry Stennett
  • Half Drowning Still Afloat by S.P. Hannaway
  • Homestead by June O’Sullivan
  • Judgement by Richard Hooton
  • Let’s Start Over by Susan O’Neal
  • On Tuesdays I Clean the House by Joe Bedford
  • Maybe Baby by Dianne Bown-Wilson
  • Stuck In a Lift with Micawber by Gillian Brown
  • Sudden Apprehension by James O’Hara-Knight
  • The Ache for Home by Dianne Bown-Wilson
  • The Attention Economy by Jay McKenzie
  • The Dressmaker by Heather Alabaster
  • The Flip Flop by James O’Hara-Knight
  • The Red Dress by Shannon Savvas
  • Whip of Cricket’s Bone by James O’Hara-Knight

All the stories featured on our longlist will be published in our prize anthology. A shortlist and winners will now be selected by our fantastic judging panel, including writers Rebecca Burns, Laura Besley and Reshma Ruia.

We aim to make a further announcement on the prize shortlist and winners by 1 August.