2023 Longlist

We’re delighted to announce this year’s longlist of 20 stories for The Leicester Writes Short Story Prize. The longlist was chosen from just under 250 entries received.

Stories on this year’s longlist include (in alphabetical order):

2099 by Shannon Savvas
42C by Patrick Holloway
A Form of Freedom by Laura Coleman
After and after and after before by Laura Besley
Caroline Cooper by Anna Jefferson
Celtic Knots by Chris Cottom
Doll of My Soul by Giselle Leeb
In For a Penny by Alex Reece Abbott
Inconceivable by Jo Morey
Into Your Own Hands by Aisha Phoenix
Once Upon A Fly by Ayesha Farhat
One Adult for Piercing by Danny Beusch
Return to Your Homes by Edward Barnfield
She Went There for the Weekend by Hannah Retallick
Still Life by Lui Sit
The Devil Holds My Tongue by Richard Hooton
The Perfect Discordant Note by Anne Elicano-Shields
The Rescue Dog by David Butler
Waiting by Jocelyn Watson
Your Own Abyss by Malina Douglas

All the stories featured on our longlist will be published in our prize anthology. A shortlist and winners will now be selected by our fantastic judging panel, including writers Joe Bedford and Mona Dash.

We aim to make our shortlist announcement by late August.