2021 Longlist

We’re delighted to announce this year’s longlist of 20 stories for The Leicester Writes Short Story Prize. The longlist was chosen from more than 310 submissions received.

Stories on this year’s longlist include (in alphabetical order):

A How to Guide by Hanne Larsson
Baby Blue by Raluca Comanelea
Bedbugs by Leeor Ohayon
Bullfrog and the Juju Mangoes by Marcus Jones
Clearing Up by Penny Blackburn
Cosmo vs the Cosmos by Sherry Morris
Don’t Feed Me Raw Papayas by Vaishali K
Hot Enough to Melt Bones by Alan Kennedy
Jakov’s Clothes by Joe Bedford
La Terre Promise by Danny Beusch
Low Level by Rebecca Martin
Miss Aveline’s Summerhouse by Katherine Hetzel
Monsters by Tracy Fahey
Permission to Communicate by Jay Kelly
Rock’n’Roll is History by Barbara Weeks
Room of Broken Mirrors by Aisha Phoenix
Scrounger by S.M. Wait
Shine by Megan Holland
The Boy with the Green Eyes by Iqbal Hussain
The Tinkerbell Effect by Aisha Phoenix

All the stories featured on our longlist will be published in our prize anthology. A shortlist and winners will now be selected by our fantastic judging panel, including writers Rebecca Burns, Melissa Fu and Dan Powell.

We aim to make our shortlist announcement by late June.