We’re thrilled to announce this year’s shortlist for the Leicester Writes Short Story Prize. The shortlist was chosen from 20 longlisted stories by our fantastic panel of judges which includes writers Rebecca Burns, Jon McGregor and last year’s winner, CG Menon.

Stories on this year’s shortlist include (in alphabetical order):

Get Along Without You Now by Dianne Bown-Wilson
How Do We Die? by Selma Carvalho
Natural Accents by Mona Dash
Numbers by N.F. Vania
Paper Chains by Debz Hobbs-Wyatt
Peacocks by Jason Jackson
Quotations from Shakespeare by Frances Johnstone
Scrubbed Away by Helen Cooper
The View from Space by Jude Cook
The Whisperer by John Fulton

The shortlisted stories will now go through to the final round of judging. The winner will be announced on May 1st 2018.