2019 Shortlist

We’re thrilled to announce this year’s shortlist of 9 stories for The Leicester Writes Short Story Prize 2019. The shortlist was chosen from 20 exceptional stories on this year’s longlist by our fantastic judging panel,
including writers Rebecca Burns, Jonathan Taylor and Susmita Bhattacharya.

Stories on this year’s shortlist include (in alphabetical order):

Amended Endings by Sharon Boyle

Because Sometimes Something Happens by Debz Hobbs-Wyatt

California Dreamin’ by Cath Barton

Horton Street by Selma Carvalho

Last Dance at Plum and Woolston’s by Cindy George

Our Special Words for Things by Dan Brotzel

Promises by Thomas Morgan

The Aqua Skating Dress by Emma Lee

The New Boy by Mary Byrne

Shortlisted stories will now go through to the final round of judging.
The winner will be announced by the end of May.