2021 Shortlist

We’re thrilled to announce this year’s shortlist of 11 stories for The Leicester Writes Short Story Prize. The shortlist was chosen from 20 exceptional stories on this year’s longlist by our fantastic judging panel, including writers Rebecca Burns, Melissa Fu and Dan Powell.

Stories on this year’s shortlist include (in alphabetical order):

A How to Guide by Hanne Larrson
Bedbugs by Leeor Ohayon
Don’t Feed Me Raw Papayas by Vaishali K
Hot Enough to Melt Bones by Alan Kennedy
La Terre Promise by Danny Beusch
Low Level by Rebecca Martin
Miss Aveline’s Summerhouse by Katherine Hetzel
Permission to Communicate by Jay Kelly
Rock’n’Roll is History by Barbara Weeks
Scrounger by S.M. Wait
Shine by Megan Holland

Shortlisted stories will now go through to the final round of judging.
The winner will be announced by the end of June.